Youth Interview #5 with Carla – citizen of Sydney, London & NYC

Meet Carla, a free spirited super intelligent 25 year old from Sydney. Like many 20 something Aussies Carla has spent the past 4 years travelling the world and interning at some of the best magazines in London and New York. During the past two years in London she worked for Harpers Bizarre and wrote a cool travel blog. Here’s her perspectives on youth culture.

How do you see yourself?

I see myself as a twentysomething wannabe journo who loves to travel and has a healthy obsession with all thing Pilates. Ever the optimist, at school I was highly competitive although at uni I became happy with a B-grade average (small fish, big pond). I’d always wanted to study in New York, but UTS (where I was completing a BA Communications / LLB Law degree) wasn’t affiliated with any universities in NYC… so I made my own path. New York led me to interning at Bridal Guide magazine, where I published my first articles, and working in a café in Soho where I met an enviable number of Hollywood’s A-list. After a year my boyfriend and I moved to London where I took a role at Harper’s Bazaar magazine. Back from London, I’m touching base with family and friends, writing on the side, and doing my best to settle back into the Sydney suburbs.

What do you want to be remembered for?

As much as I want to establish myself as reputable journalist and magazine editor, I hope most to be remembered by friends and family as the person who always kept in touch. Having lived in three cities, I’ve made friends with people from all over the globe and I try hard to maintain strong ties with them all. Mediums like Facebook and Skype certainly help, but every now and then I like to send each of them a “chunky” email.

What’s the best thing about being 25?

I haven’t quite figured that one out yet. I suppose I like the freedom that comes with being in your early twenties. No mortgage and no children means I’m able to travel whenever I want and ultimately be quite selfish with my time.

You’ve been living in Ne

Carla has spent the past 4 years working in NYC and London

Carla has spent the past 4 years working in NYC and London

w York and London the past 3 years, how would you compare youth culture in Sydney to those cities?

In New York kids are bombarded with brands: designer for the upper echelons (yes, Gossip Girl-ians do exist) and street wear-bling for everyone else. Music is key for young New Yorkers but I was surprised how young Londoners are also influenced by hip-hop music, following both US and UK artists. Sydney youth culture seems to relate far more to the outdoors. Sun and surf may be a generalisation, but it’s a valid one.

What do you think are the main issues facing young Australians today?

The current economic climate weighs heavily on all young Australians. With most just finishing university – and those, like myself, returning from overseas – it’s hard not to become despondent.

Who are your heroes?

Paula Joye, editor of Madison magazine, is certainly an inspiration. Not only is she an integral part of ACP Magazines – responsible for launching a number of their successful titles – she’s a working mother. I would love to be able to juggle those two roles as well as she does.  

What’s one-thing brands need to know about connecting with you?

I’m optimistic. Sell me an inspirational image, and I’ll buy into it.

Leave a Reply

